| FORUM

FEDEVEL
Platform forum

Lesson 9 - 3rd Order Butterworth LTSpice simulation

Ant1882 , 02-02-2022, 08:44 AM
Hello,

Just working my way through the course, onto lesson 9 using LTSpice. When trying to simulate the 3rd order Butterworth filter with Fc = 25kHz I got the following:

If I then switch to using an ideal op-amp I get the following, which agrees with the filter calculation tools:

This was done based on the suggestion from here: https://electronics.stackexchange.co...len-key-filter

Is this a quirk of LTSpice, or is the first simulation showing us something more "real-life" than the ideal calculations? In which case we may need to alter component values or op-amps for a better result. I'm new to LTSpice simulations, maybe it is the case we need to use ideal op-amps to gain sensible results. Can anyone comment on this?

Thanks, also great course!

Anthony
SauceBoss , 02-03-2022, 02:25 PM
I would try to use smaller resistance and larger capacitances as that will lower the noise. In this example you have overall around 41k of series resistance, that's an awful lot (but keeps the capacitances small). Personally I wouldn't go over 5k in series resistance. Try doing noise simulation and then reduce resistances by tenfold (you will need to up capacitances by the same amount) and then run sim on noise

Side note: have you provided DC bias since you operate on single power supply? It can be done in voltage source settings.
AlexanderBrevig , 02-02-2022, 09:32 AM
Seems like the AD820 needs at least 5 volts according to the datasheet. Maybe try a 6v rail? ☺
Ant1882 , 02-02-2022, 09:57 AM
Originally posted by AlexanderBrevig
Seems like the AD820 needs at least 5 volts according to the datasheet. Maybe try a 6v rail? ☺
Just tried, got the same unwanted output ha ha. Thanks for the suggestion though!
AlexanderBrevig , 02-02-2022, 10:15 AM
It also says it needs a load. You can see Rload in the datasheet. Try adding a resistor to ground, seems to want to be loaded.