| FORUM

FEDEVEL
Platform forum

The minimum clearance/creepage distance for the outside and inner PCBs

Ashish1710 , 08-28-2023, 04:22 AM
Hello FEDEVEL family,

I am new in Automobile domain, I have one query in that they mention for measure the clearance/creepage distance they use IEC60664-1 standard and material group better than IIIb, pollution degree 2.
and I'd like to confirm the minimum clearance/creepage distance for the outside and inner PCBs.
the Input voltage is 400V and 800V DC

How I confirm the minimum clearance/Creepage distance .
Is there any calculation formula or document available

Thanks in advance...

qdrives , 08-28-2023, 03:29 PM
If I look a bit at some pictures of 60664, table 4 material group I needs a CTI >= 600, group II CTI >= 400 and group III CTI >= 100.
So you need to check what the requirements are for the CTI to get in the standard "printed wiring material". You would need to ask the fabricator what the CTI of your board will be.
Then there are the tables in 60664 that state the creepage and clearance required for 400V and 800V.
Do not forget the distances in IPC2221 too. Both state the MINIMUM.

One other note: If you want to claim that you product complies to 60664-1, you need to own a copy of it.
Ashish1710 , 08-29-2023, 02:43 AM
@qdrives Thanks for the information.
The CTI is 100 ≤ CTI < 175.

Based on following information how I calculate/measure the clearance/creepage distance for the outside and inner PCBs

​1.IEC60664-1 standard
2.Material group better than IIIb,
3.Pollution degree 2.
4.Input voltage is 400V and 800V DC
qdrives , 08-29-2023, 03:26 PM
It is best to own the standard. It is not the cheapest standard, to be polite.

However, if I am not mistaken, the inner layers are pollution degree 1 as the outside pollution cannot reach it.
Then you need to determine the impulse withstand voltage.
This table then states the clearance you need http://i.stack.imgur.com/2kdPC.jpg