| FORUM

FEDEVEL
Platform forum

Requirement for hardware design engineer

Shahriar sakib , 08-15-2023, 02:10 PM
Hello Sir, I want to know one thing that is what are the requirements to be pcb designer or hardware design engineer. Since I have completed bsc on electronics. What is necessary to become a hardware design engineer!?​​​​
qdrives , 08-15-2023, 03:04 PM
I do not know if this will help you, but I have a bsc in industrial automation. Now I design electronics, schematic and layout, and create the software (firmware and GUI).
What you need is a passion to learn, some people that can guide you and, most of all, an opportunity. But that is just how I got to where I am now.
If one or both of the last are lacking, there are the learning video's and DIY projects.
Paul van Avesaath , 08-15-2023, 03:40 PM
I agree with @qdrives it is not a mix you can learn from a book, just starting stuff and finish it.. experiecing every issue and solving them is the way to go.. asking for help is never wrong and even after 18 years of doing this i still learn new things every design.

start making designs that you think are interesting. or were you see a need. as an example i had a pi4 that i needed to intergrate in a car, but due to fact a car can shut down instantly the pi needed to have "ups" style board attached to it to shut down properly each time. there are some out there but they did not meet my expectations.. so i designed my own. it still has quirks but it does the job fine.. so if i would do a redesign i would change a few things .. but you will take that experience to every other design you make..

and for layout experience you want to try different approaches to wiring it up.. i sometimes do things over and over maybe 7-8 times before i like the end result. yes it takes time. but you will learn a lot of tricks this way and gain insight on the options you have...